Down

Writers on Holiday

Śledziejowice

  • Śledziejowice

    The history of the manor house in Śledziejowice dates back to the first half of the 19th century. The building was erected in 1823 for the Larysz-Niedzielski family with the use of larch wood. It has a simple mass with a porch with Doric columns. The furnishings of the house were not lavish. Thirteen rooms were filled with modest furniture made of painted lime wood and more decorative dressers and Gdańsk wardrobes. The manor remained in possession of the Niedzielski family until 1947, when the State Treasury took over the property. Later, it housed a kindergarten, a commune cooperative, as well as offices and flats of the employees of the fruit and vegetable processing cooperative. It was not until 1987 that a new owner carried out a major renovation.

    Śledziejowice

    The history of the manor house in Śledziejowice dates back to the first half of the 19th century. The building was erected in 1823 for the Larysz-Niedzielski family with the use of larch wood. It has a simple mass with a porch with Doric columns. The furnishings of the house were not lavish. Thirteen rooms were filled with modest furniture made of painted lime wood and more decorative dressers and Gdańsk wardrobes. The manor remained in possession of the Niedzielski family until 1947, when the State Treasury took over the property. Later, it housed a kindergarten, a commune cooperative, as well as offices and flats of the employees of the fruit and vegetable processing cooperative. It was not until 1987 that a new owner carried out a major renovation.

    Thanks to Jerzy Waldorff’s idea, after the war, the manor house in Śledziejowice became a holiday house for the employees of the Przekrój weekly. On Fridays, the weekly’s collaborators came to Śledziejowice in the editorial jeep in order to have fun and discuss the next issue.

    Konstanty Ildefons Gałczyński (who used to call Śledziejowice “Waldorffowo”), Jerzy Andrzejewski, Zygmunt Mycielski, and Jerzy Waldorff himself, among others, spent the summer of 1946 here. That summer in Śledziejeowice, Henryk Hermanowicz took the famous photo of Gałczyński covered with a cape and in a top hat. Gałczyński was called a cat in Śledziejowice because of his avocation for sitting on the manor’s roof at nights.

    The house is surrounded by a seven-hectare English park established at the turn of the 18th and the 19th centuries. Before World War II, it became a nature reserve.

  • Practical information

    The village of Śledziejowice is located in the Wieliczka district, over a dozen kilometres from Krakow. The manor and the park are private property. The entire complex is surrounded by a wall, there are no tours or visits allowed. However, we recommend a trip to the nearby Wieliczka with its charming, renovated centre and numerous monuments, as well as the “Wieliczka” Salt Mine, a tour of which takes several hours.

     

    Practical information

    The village of Śledziejowice is located in the Wieliczka district, over a dozen kilometres from Krakow. The manor and the park are private property. The entire complex is surrounded by a wall, there are no tours or visits allowed. However, we recommend a trip to the nearby Wieliczka with its charming, renovated centre and numerous monuments, as well as the “Wieliczka” Salt Mine, a tour of which takes several hours.